Raleigh Convergence will stop publishing April 1, 2022. Read more.

Election 2020 results in Wake County (updated Dec. 21)

IMPORTANT NOTE: Raleigh Convergence is no longer publishing, as of April 1, 2022. Read more.

Updated Dec. 21:

The State Board of Elections certified the results on Dec. 18, resolving the final outstanding race for N.C. Supreme Court Chief Justice and a few outstanding races.

Nearly all other contests were certified by the state on Nov. 24. Of the four that were outstanding, two are in Wake County. Here are the results:

  • District Court Judge – 10F (Wake County): Tim Gunther received more votes than opponent Beth Tanner, but an evidentiary hearing found that he doesn’t live in the district and is disqualified. The governor will appoint a judge. [more info]
  • N.C. House District 36 (Wake County): Julie von Haefen, a Democrat, is the top vote-getter, receiving more than 53% of the vote. Kim Coley, the Republican candidate, filed a protest, citing irregularities in mail-in ballots. It was dismissed by the Wake County Board of Elections and appealed to the state board, where it was dismissed again. The reasoning behind the state’s final decision, obtained by Raleigh Convergence, says there was no factual evidence presented by Coley, among other reasons given.
  • Chief Justice: Paul Newby will be North Carolina’s next Chief Justice. Current Chief Justice Cheri Beasley conceded Dec. 12 after a hand recount.

A recount in three counties (not including Wake) continued Monday, after a Thanksgiving break, for the N.C. Supreme Court Chief Justice seat. Incumbent Chief Justice Cheri Beasley requested a recount Nov. 17.

“Beasley trails Republican Paul Newby by fewer than 400 votes out of nearly 5.4 million cast in the race for the state’s highest court,” the State Board of Elections press release said prior to the recount on Nov. 17. “That puts the race within the 10,000-vote threshold for the trailing candidate to demand a recount.”

More on the process, which happens at a county level, is outlined here.

Earlier coverage:

What happened during the county canvass:

Previously, the unofficial results from Wake County and North Carolina voters for the 2020 general election posted on Election Night, but thousands of votes were not counted until the county-level canvass.

In Wake County and North Carolina, provisional ballots, cured ballots and mail-in ballots were processed between Election Day, Nov. 3, and Nov. 12. Mail-in ballots postmarked on Election Day had until Nov. 12 to arrive to local boards of elections.

Election Night unofficial results:

The first unofficial results on Election Day included in-person early voting and absentee vote by mail ballots received by the board of elections by 5 p.m. Monday.

After the first release of results, the elections results dashboard was continuously updated until all Election Day votes were in.

The next step, county-level certification: Wake County and other N.C. county elections officials conducted the certification, or canvass, on Nov. 13. That will include absentee ballots that arrived after 5 p.m. Monday (Nov. 2) but by Nov. 12.

Recounts can be requested after the county canvass. After that, the state certifies the results and the election results are official.

READ MORE: What we know about local races as of Election Night

Wake County races

Last updated: Results from 4:17 p.m. Nov. 13

Editor’s note: Uncontested races are not included below.

Raleigh affordable housing bond:

  • Yes: 71.74% (168,168 votes)
  • No: 28.26% (66,244)

READ MORE: What the affordable housing bond includes

Wake County Board of Commissioners District 1:

Wake County Board of Commissioners District 3:

Wake County Board of Commissioners District 6:

Wake County Board of Commissioners District 7:

Wake County Register of Deeds:

Wake County Board of Education District 1:

Wake County Board of Education District 2:

Wake County Board of Education District 7:

Wake County Board of Education District 8:

Wake County Board of Education District 9:

Wake Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor:

READ MORE: What we know about local races as of Election Night

U.S. Senate, Congress representation:

Results from 4:17 p.m. Nov. 13

US SENATEBallot count
Thom TillisREP2,663,05148.68%
Cal CunninghamDEM2,547,84446.94%
Shannon W. BrayLIB171,3493.13%
Kevin E. HayesCST67,7211.24%

Note: Cal Cunningham conceded, Thom Tillis is elected.

Deborah K. RossDEM311,88762.96%
Alan D. SwainREP172,54434.83%
Jeff MatemuLIB10,9132.20%

N.C. Governor, Lt. Governor:

More Council of State results here.
Results from 4:17 p.m. Nov. 13

Roy CooperDEM2,832,15651.52%
Dan ForestREP2,584,31447.01%
Steven J. DiFioreLIB60,3611.10%
Al PisanoCST20,8940.38%
Mark RobinsonREP2,798,00551.63%
Yvonne Lewis HolleyDEM2,621,22948.37%

Mark Robinson is elected.

Presidential race results from NC voters

Results from 4:17 p.m. Nov. 13 (note: these are statewide results, Joe Biden is elected the next president)

PRESIDENTBallot count
Donald J. TrumpREP2,755,92249.93%
Joseph R. BidenDEM2,682,05348.59%
Jo JorgensenLIB48,6080.88%
Write-In (Miscellaneous)13,1980.24%
Howie HawkinsGRE12,1680.22%
Don BlankenshipCST7,5370.14%
Jade Simmons (Write-In)1020.00%

NC Supreme Court:

From results updated at 7:13 p.m. Nov. 13

Paul NewbyREP2,693,64650.01%
Cheri BeasleyDEM2,693,10149.99%

Where can I find all results?

See all unofficial results, such as judicial races, by following this link. The highlighted races, above, will be regularly updated.

Author: raleighconvergence

Sarah Day Owen Wiskirchen is the editor of Raleigh Convergence.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.